Fr. Boroughs and His Retaliation

This is the text of the First Amendment to the United States Constitution:

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

Courts around the United States, especially federal courts, have firmly said that when people in authority take pictures or video of protestors, these are retaliatory acts which infringe on the First Amendment rights of people.

When I made plans to arrive at Holy Cross last year for the Hunger Strike for Justice, the only person I told I was coming was Fr. Boroughs in a confidential email.   I thought maybe he would want to talk to me.   What did he do?   Send someone to take pictures of me on a public sidewalk — an action Courts repeatedly said is retaliatory and infringes on my First Amendment rights.    Yes, that is what this college president did first, before anything else.   Retaliate.   Apparently not understanding or respecting the First Amendment of the United States Constitution.  ( And I only let him know I was coming in case he wanted to talk.)

I told Fr. Boroughs if he did not stop all this crap, I would begin a second Hunger Strike for Justice until he did.   I am sick and tired of crap that surrounds the problems  but   never   dealing   with    the    problems.   It seems to be a Jesuit specialty.

This entry was posted in College of the Holy Cross and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

