Should Have Started with McFarland

I had nothing to do with the timing of Holy Cross changing presidents — McFarland leaving, Boroughs arriving, in January 2012.   The previous fall, in 2011, it had come to me in prayer that I had to communicate differently.   I was complaining to God about all the delays with Jesuits, all the endless delays, and then it dawned on me that a hunger strike for justice would take weeks, not years.

I did not rush to do it.  I wanted to check my idea with people who know me and with health care professionals.  Then I had to see what support there was among other victims and advocates.   And I had to make decisions on where to stay.   The only way the change in leadership affected my decisions is I wanted to give Fr. Boroughs a chance to respond to letters after he arrived in January 2012.   By mid March, I knew I had given him enough time to respond and ask for more information or more time if he needed it.   Instead he ignored me.  The Hunger Strike for Justice began later in March 2012 after I gave Fr. Boroughs that time.

So the time on the hunger strike last year and the vigil this year has been while Boroughs is president.   It is not my fault that McFarland left this on Boroughs’ plate.

This came up because I have new indications that McFarland may have played a bigger role in the confidentiality breaches continuing.   I also know McFarland has been consulted recently.    I question whether he is telling the truth.   McFarland is at the New York provincial office now.  He is at this web page:  http://nysj.org/s/316/nypsj.aspx?pgid=885&gid=1

Here is his picture:

His email address is at the website —  mcfarland@nysj.org .    So I decided to ask him a question about whether he told the new administration the truth about the confidentiality he promised.    An hour later, he bounced back my email to him.   The email was not bounced back immediately, which would have happened if the address was wrong.  Instead, McFarland chose to bounce it back.    He failed to address the issue about whether he told the truth about confidentiality.

This is significant because McFarland is talking to Holy Cross people.  In the early hours of this blog, when I only told Boroughs about it, I had visits from the New York provincial office, and the visit came from their receipt of an email with my blog address.   (To repeat:  in the early hours of this blog, I had only told Boroughs about it)  Then I got a visit from a Jesuit residence at Fordham in NYC — I’ll soon find out if McFarland spends time there.

So, McFarland will talk to Holy Cross, he will accept emails from the Holy Cross administration, and he will visit my blog, but when I ask him a basic question about whether he told the truth about confidentiality he bounces back my email.

Don’t I have the right to ask a priest if he is still respecting the confidentiality he promised me?

I am confident this Vigil for Justice will last ten years.   I know I am dealing with Jesuit cover ups and conspiracies.   But I am debating making the new Hunger Strike for Justice about two things — Boroughs stopping the retaliation AND McFarland telling the truth about confidentiality.    These stand out as the two main problems.  I’ll decide soon.   I think that’s how I will go.

But I sure wish McFarland had dealt with this, or that the idea for the hunger strike and vigil came to me when he still had plenty of time there.   I sense that Boroughs’ administration is choosing to mess up because they can find cover in the old administration.  What that means is this will take a lot more time to solve.  As I said, I expect this to take ten years.

This entry was posted in College of the Holy Cross and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

