Day 13 of the Hunger Strike: I Gave Conley a Message for the Board of Trustees

Holy Cross wants me to deal with William Conley, the head of Administrative Services, even though he rarely responds to serious issues.  Today I asked Conley to share the message below with the Holy Cross Board of Trustees.   In recent months, and in past years,  I had been asking Conley where to report unethical conduct of members of the administration, but he ignored me all the time.    If he does not tell me by tomorrow morning that he has shared this with the Board, I will re-post it here with the names of all the members of the Board.

Mr. Conley,

Please share this communication with the Board of Trustees. I have witnessed extremes in the ethical standards of Jesuits and staff members regarding strict confidentiality. They all know what it means. There is a striking difference in their integrity.

William A. Barry, SJ, provincial of the New England province. After the province promised strict confidentiality, he had a reason to seek permission to change it. He called me and inquired if he had permission. He sensed my hesitancy, so he canceled his request, and never violated the strict confidentiality.

Myles Sheehan, SJ, provincial of the New England province. After the province promised strict confidentiality, he did not care. He did whatever he wanted to do and never sought permission.

Michael McFarland, SJ, president of the College of the Holy Cross. After the president promised strict confidentiality, he did not care four months later. He never sought permission at any time to breach it.

Philip Boroughs, SJ, president of the College of the Holy Cross. After the president promised strict confidentiality, he has never respected it. He never sought permission to breach it, but allowed it to be breached thousands of times and retaliated against me when I complained.

Dennis Yesalonia, SJ, general counsel of the College of the Holy Cross. After the president of the college promised strict confidentiality, he called me to confirm it and to tell me he had a problem: as the general counsel of the college, he needed to investigate. He said he would never see my communications to the president, that they were strictly private between me and the president. We discussed how he could investigate: I gave him limited permission to talk to specific people for a limited time and purpose.

Vincent F. O’Rourke, general counsel of the College of the Holy Cross. After the president of the college promised strict confidentiality, O’Rourke breached it whenever he wanted to, within the college and externally, talking to other people about me without ever seeking permission. When I complained, he retaliated with special ill will, every way he could.

William J. Conley, Director of Administrative Services. After the president of the college promised strict confidentiality, Conley breached it thousands of times, permitting my communications to the president to be viewed by him and shared with others without ever once seeking my permission. When I complained, there was no reply. When I asked where in the administration to report the problems, there was never a reply from Conley.

The Board of Trustees should know about these problems. The Board has ignored them for years.

Sincerely,

An alum

This entry was posted in College of the Holy Cross and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

