Life Lessons, for the Class of 2013 and for Me

“After you drive down Linden Lane and into your adult lives, don’t confine yourself to the fair weather races, the easy races, the races you know you can win. Get out in gale force winds. Know you will capsize, again and again and again and again. Know that it will not be easy to right your boat, but you can do it. Because the most magnificent triumphs are the hardest ones — the ones that include failure, the ones that you get through not because you are smart or because you are skilled, but because you don’t give up.

– Anne Fadiman, Commencement Address to the Class of 2013, College of the Holy Cross, May 24, 2013

Good lesson for me on this Vigil for Justice.   I will not give up, not a chance.

This entry was posted in College of the Holy Cross and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life Lessons, for the Class of 2013 and for Me

  1. NEXT TIME, JUST “”””GO””””TO A FUNERAL IN GOOD FAITH,FOR ONE NEEDS NOT PERMISSION TO CREDIT THE LIVES LIVED!

    “”Asking”” permission, to me, encourages DOUBT ! And negativity! Just GO with some family or friends who you wish to sit with, and pay tribute lovingly.

    My best suggestion.

    Lesson learned = “””DO”””what your soul guides you to do in calm and peace. You are not a child that needs permission, you are an adult that is free to follow their loving spirit and heart.

    Let Fr. Borough’s learn HIS Lessons.

    Regarding the clergy abuse, that is a HORSE OF,A DIFFERENT COLOR! The Jesuits need to TAKE RESPONSIBILITY, WITHOUT A DOUBT’,,,,,,,,,,,,

    NO DOUBT IN THIS MATTER, OR ANY MATTER FOR THAT MATTER,,,,,,,””””WHERE EVER IN THE WORLD A PRIEST ABUSES A SOUL, “”””””””””””CLERGY RESPONSIBILITY”””””””””””””NEEDS TO BE TAKEN!

  2. Barbara, you get it, about asking for permission. But there was a lot more going on than I said here. Still, I questioned that in my own head a lot.

    In March 2012, HC president, Philip Boroughs, had Public Safety hand deliver a “no trespass” letter to me when I had not done ANYTHING wrong and had not violated ANY policies that the college has.

    I am not opposed to “civil disobedience” but I knew it wasn’t fitting with my other VERY important questions. It would be a big distraction and life already has many distractions.

    PLUS I had just hired a Holy Cross alum who is a lawyer to represent me. I told him he only had

      six months

    to see what he could do, and then I extended it a bit two times.

    He asked me not to do any public things because that just inflames people and you want a solution. I didn’t want to be in his way after I just hired him for his advice.

    (FYI, later I found again that the quiet way does not work either.)

    If John Brooks, SJ died in July 2013 I would be at his funeral and see what they do about it. Just see. The worst thing would be going to court and explaining why I went to a funeral.

    But that was not true then. I made many attempts to do it in a polite way with Holy Cross, explaining the “no trespass” letter was a problem. But Holy Cross ignored me.

Leave a Reply

