Happy Birthday My Country!

Happy Birthday My Country!

My Country, I wondered what I would think of you when I woke up this morning.   Two days before your birthday some misguided people at the College of the Holy Cross tried to block my little protest with big trucks before the chairman of the Board of Trustees drove by.   Being a street smart and well educated graduate of the College of the Holy Cross, I moved my signs and moved me to see better;  the signs were still obstructed but I could see.    P. Kevin Condron drove by,  chair of the Board at Holy Cross, and some people at the College did not want him to see me.

Holy Cross acts like the public sidewalk belongs to them, not us.

Three days before that, someone shot at me when I was on a public sidewalk.

My Country, you tell me there are protections in our Constitution for free speech and free assembly.  I was on a public sidewalk.  Why, at Holy Cross, do people still just do what they want to do?   Why, at Holy Cross, do people act like they own the public space instead of celebrating that it belongs to everyone?   Why, at Holy Cross, do they retaliate and retaliate and retaliate and retaliate against people who already went through the worst and can see what they are doing?

My Country, I am keenly aware of the sacrifices that shaped you and still recreate you.  In high school genealogy projects, my family recalled the four brothers from Ireland who died in the same war, like so many of our young people.

I do not know what is going on at the College of the Holy Cross, but all the problems seem to be the same type of problem:  LAWS AND POLICIES DO NOT APPLY TO US, if we see a benefit to us to violate the laws and policies.

My Country, I do not know what the future holds, but I have an instinct to go forward and face it and see what I can do to make it better.   I am not going to be the loudest or savviest teller of these stories about problems.   But I will be persistent and dependable and stay with it until it all gets better.

Happy Birthday, My Country, and thank you!

This entry was posted in College of the Holy Cross and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday My Country!

  1. Well said, THANK YOU Kate! You r being HEARD!

  2. Thanks, Barb. Your support means a lot to me!

    -Kate

Leave a Reply

