“We Who Believe in Freedom Cannot Rest”

George Zimmerman’s trial in the shooting death of Trayvon Martin ended in an acquittal and many people wrote about it.   One person shared parts of this song and I looked it up.  Sweet Honey in the Rock was very popular among my Jesuit Volunteer Corps colleagues, so I knew this would be a good song.

When I began the protest at the College of the Holy Cross last year, someone took a picture while I was holding an ambiguous sign that could fit many protests.   The picture appeared on a website sponsored by patrons of Boston bars.    Nearly all the commenters assumed my protest was about Trayvon Martin’s death, which had just happened.   Later, the person who took the picture clarified it, because there were other signs explaining my protest.   I haven’t forgotten that experience and the sense of being grounded in a deep history of fights for freedom and justice.

This entry was posted in College of the Holy Cross. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

