Philip L. Boroughs, SJ, President of the College of the Holy Cross, Conspires to Violate Civil Rights AGAIN

I want to begin with a reminder.   Three months ago, the Office of the President of Holy Cross violated my civil rights under the United States Constitution by placing two trucks in illegal places so they would block my signs when the chairman of the Board of Trustees drove by.   I caught them red handed.

Yesterday, Philip Boroughs chose to violate my civil rights again.  His office gave an ILLEGAL order to Robert Hart, the director of Public Safety, who passed on the ILLEGAL order to a public safety officer.   I was ORDERED to take down my signs.    I immediately said to the officer, “Bullshit!”    He must be kidding.   So the officer repeated it again after checking, and added, “It came from the chief.”    I said, “Tell the chief to come here and explain it himself.”   The officer said the chief would be here soon.

Then I located a civil rights lawyer in Worcester who confirmed the College of the Holy Cross was violating my rights.   I had every right to be there, as I have been on and off since March 2012.

The chief never came to talk to me.   The public safety officer came back and told me the chief said the order came from “higher ups”.

Then students came to talk to me at the Vigil.    They connected the dots.   The college violated my civil rights because Fox news was on campus.   The college violated my civil rights  to block coverage of the protest.

This was confirmed when a Holy Cross professor stopped to talk to me this morning.  He is teaching a course with a large segment on the media.   He asked his students to be aware of how the media does or does not cover the protest and how the college handled it.    So the College of the Holy Cross –students and faculty — caught the Office of the President of the College of the Holy Cross violating my civil rights.

There will be many more conversations to figure out the right response to Fr. Boroughs’ ongoing bad behavior.   He is violating the college’s protest policy, failing to follow federal law on reporting crimes, making false threats of trespass, breaching confidentiality, retaliating, and violating civil rights whenever he wants to.   It’s a tremendous responsibility to continue this Vigil for Justice and make sure the college learns how to follow its own policies and respect the law, even when it sees no benefit to itself.   I will stay on this Vigil for Justice for as long as it takes.

This entry was posted in College of the Holy Cross and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Philip L. Boroughs, SJ, President of the College of the Holy Cross, Conspires to Violate Civil Rights AGAIN

  1. B. N. says:

    Good for you, Kate!!!! So much of the world is WITH YOU!

    Many are so extremely thankful for your reality checks on the Jesuits’ behavior, the Holy Cross’s Behavior, and that of the Catholic Church’s behavior throughout history and yet presently as well.
    Many, i know, thank the heavens for you!

Leave a Reply

